Connect with us


Osun 2026: APC Releases Defection Committee For Babayemi, Ogunbiyi, Others



Sharing buttons

The Osun State chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC), a major opposition party in the state has named a powerful committee that will organize a befitting official defection of Omo Oba Dotun Babayemi and Dr Akin Ogunbiyi with the thousands of their supporters and followers across the state into the APC in the state.

According to the state chairman of the APC, Sooko Tajudeen Lawal, in a statement issued by the party’s Director of Media and Information, Chief Kola Olabisi, said a season and consumate APC chieftain, Alhaji Mayegun Debo Badru will be the chairman of the 12-member defection committee while Hon Bello Atanda who is the State Organizing Secretary of the party, will serve as the secretary of the committee.

Other members of the defection committee are: Hon. Oluomo Sunday Akere; Chief Delani Ajanaku; Hon Femi Kujembola; Lord Monyeh; and Hon. Richard Tinubu.

Others are: Mr Damola Abdulsalam; Alhaja Fauziat Olaniyan; Alhaja Kudirat Fakokunde; Hon. Rasheed Adeniji; Hon Sakirat Adeoye and Barr. Olubisi Oladosu

Omooba Babayemi was a Peoples Democratic Party’s (PDP) governorship aspirant during the last election in the state while Dr Ogunbiyi was also the Accord Party’s governorship candidate in the state during the last election.

Lawal stated that the committee has the latitude to fashion out the modality for the hitch-free defection exercise at a convenient date but not later than next week.

Sharing buttons